Women’s Golf Group Holds Annual Meeting

The new SLWGA Board members pictured from left to right (Back row): Treasurer, Charlotte Kennedy; Rules & Handicap Chair, Cheryl Bantle; Past President, Becky Parr. Front row: Secretary, K.J. Hopkins; Tournament Chair, Shirley Flaherty; President, Linda Strohmenger; Vice President, Andee Beach.


The Women’s Golf Association of Seven Lakes Golf Club held their season ending meeting on Dec. 12.

During the meeting, President Becky Parr delivered her 2023 report with a focus on understanding the USGA Rules of Golf, Pace of Play and members applying their golf knowledge during SLWGA play.  

Parr reported that the SLWGA Outreach program achieved the following:

  • collection of 329 pounds of food and donations of $770 for The Food Bank of Central and Eastern North Carolina;
  • sponsorship for six families and $1,065 collected in donations for Christmas for Moore; and
  • donations of $620 for the Girls’ Club of Whispering Pines.

Tournament Chair Shirley Flaherty presented her closing report covering weekly play during 2023, as well as special tournaments:  Boots & Bling Invitation, Buddy Tournament, St. Patrick’s Day tournament, Stableford, Spooktacular Tournament, and the annual Solheim Cup tournament.

Official SLWGA play is suspended until March, but unofficial and fun golf is played each Tuesday under the guidance of Kathleen Causey.

Membership Chair Susan Clark reported SLWGA finished the season with 36 members, which included nine new members. To date, the group has received interest from three potential new members in 2024.

Anyone interested in joining this organization can inquire with Clark, any SLWGA member or the Pro Shop staff.

The members approved proposed changes to the SLWGA Constitution and Bylaws as presented by Charlotte Kennedy, Chair of the Constitution and Bylaws Committee. 

Treasurer Charlotte Kennedy presented the Treasurer’s Report for 2023. 

Parr presented the year-end prizes and awards. Shirley Flaherty was presented with the “Shining Star”award for her continued dedication and participation in SLWGA. K.J. Hopkins was awarded the “Most Improved Golfer” award. Nanci Keating received the “Teed Off” Award for the highest attendance in the Tuesday weekly play, only missing one Tuesday.

The following officers were elected to the SLWGA Board for 2024: Charlotte Kennedy, Treasurer; Cheryl Bantle, Rules & Handicap Chair; Becky Parr, Past President and Ex-Officio; K.J. Hopkins, Secretary; Shirley Flaherty, Tournament Chair; Linda Strohmenger, President and Andee Beach, Assistant Vice President.